Dear Friends,  

We welcome all of you to our website, which is a tribute to our non-profit organization whose mission is the advancement of Puerto Rican/Hispanic women through higher education.  The League’s motto is:  “EDUCATE A WOMAN AND YOU EDUCATE A FAMILY.”

The League will host its 13th Anniversary Scholarship Gala on Thursday, August 26, 2021 at the Marina Del Rey in the Bronx, from 6pm to 10pm.  Because of Covid, we were unable to celebrate our 12th Anniversary Scholarship Gala.  However, we did award scholarships to the following 5 candidates:  Alexandria Garcia, University of Connecticut;  Amberstorm Hopwood, SUNY University at Albany;  Kelsey Negron, State University of New York at Oneonta;  Keysha Rodriguez, Lehman College;  Imari Roque, SUNY University at Albany.

The League hosted its 11th Anniversary Scholarship Gala at the Marina Del Rey in the Bronx on August 29, 2019.  

At our 11th Anniversary Gala we honored the following: 

Woman of the Year: Carmen J. Villa-Lugo, Esq. Chairwoman, Acacia Network

Man of the Year: Miguel A. Fuentes, Jr., President/CEO, BronxCare Health System (not in picture)

Education Award: Dr. Anna Flores Locke, Director, Clinical Internship, Nyack College

Labor Leader Award: Lourdes Acevedo, Recording Secretary, CWU Local 1180

Public Service Award: Sgt. Jessica Hernandez, President, Latino Court Officers Society

Business Award: Maryjane Vargas-Rios, Owner, The MJ Treatment

Public Health Service Award: Dr. Diana Hernandez, Asst. Prof., Columbia University


The 10 students awarded scholarships in 2019 were: 

Boricua College: Yamila Amari, Angelic Oliveras and Nicole Rivera-Batista

Hunter College: Emilyanne Rodriguez

Kingsborough Community College: Delilah Rivera

Lehman College: Eneida Alvarado, Syndellise Ortega-Rodriguez, Ashley Pena and Dianis Rivera

Nyack College: Giselle Flores


We are also proud to announce the appointment of our new Vice President, Lynette Madera, a Real Estate Manager, and who earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology from Hunter College in New York.       


In August 2018, we celebrated our 10th Anniversary Gala Dinner Dance at the Marina Del Rey in the Bronx.  Our 10 distinguished honorees were:


WOMAN OF THE YEAR: Honorable Judge Wilma Guzman, President, Puerto Rican Bar Association of NY 

MAN OF THE YEAR: Dr. Havidán Rodríguez, President of the University at Albany (SUNY) 

EDUCATION AWARD: Carmen Diaz-Malvido, Chief Executive Officer, ASPIRA of New York    

EDUCATION AWARD: Luis E. Torres, Principal, CS 55, Benjamin Franklin School in the Bronx

COMMUNITY SERVICE AWARD: Angel Santini Palos, President, Comite Noviembre 

LABOR LEADER AWARD: Elizabeth Perez, UFT, Brooklyn Borough Representative, NYSUT Board of Directors

LABOR LEADER AWARD: Nelson Rivera, Administrative Vice President, Transport Workers Union, Local 100 

BUSINESS AWARD: Victoria Jenn Rodriguez, Founder/CEO, VJR Enterprises, LLC  


Maria Aponte, Assistant Director, Global Diversity & Inclusion, Fordham University Career Services

Miriam Quiles, Teacher, PS 160, Brooklyn, UFT ELL Focus Group, NYSUT ELL Subcommittee 

12 students were awarded scholarships, and they represented the University of Puerto Rico: Neysha Beltran; Long Island University: Amy Canales;  Lehman College: Theresa Del Toro, Anabel Moreno and Natasha Santiago;  Bronx Community College: Llovizna Disla;  University of Alabama: Felicity Martinez; Adelphi University: Yesenia Morales;  Marist College: Juliann Negron;  Boricua College: Yajaira Perez;  Hostos Community College: Ariel Vargas;  and Western Oregon University: Brianne Yap from the state of Hawaii. 


Five of these College Awards are financed by the League’s chief sponsor for the past ten years:  the New York Yankees, to whom we are most grateful.

We are also so very proud to announce that the New York League of Puerto Rican Women, Inc. has made history by being the very first Puerto Rican/Hispanic women’s organization to be honored by the New York Yankees, eight years in a row, at their Hispanic Heritage Month Celebration, in on-field ceremonies at Yankee Stadium, from 2011 through 2018.  This recognition of the League, underscores the Yankees’ commitment to the League’s mission.

The League’s focus is on the Puerto Rican woman and her ability to provide a better life for herself and her family by obtaining a college degree.  The League strives to offer, annually, scholarships of $1,000.00 each to Puerto Rican/Hispanic undergraduate women with a GPA of 3.0 and no failing grades.  

We present these scholarships by depending solely on the support and generosity of the community, since we do not receive any government grants.  Our goal is to increase the number of scholarship recipients each year.  In order to do so, we look to the generosity of our friends, members, supporters, contributors and sponsors to accomplish this goal.  The League asks that you spread the word throughout the community about our Scholarship Program so that all eligible students can apply.  We welcome you to explore our web site for information on past scholarship  recipients, our Scholarship Galas, and the Sponsorship / Contribution Form and Scholarship Application Form.  We encourage you to join the League in support of our Scholarship Program, as a Member, Sponsor and/or Contributor, and to participate in our Activities.  No contribution is too small.

We trust that you will continue to be one of our loyal supporters, and please accept our heartfelt thanks for your gracious generosity.

Con Cariño,

Eunice Santiago, President

– Educate a woman, and you educate a family –